3 March Talks to Book Now

Three hot tickets to book now:

Adam Kay, This is Going to Hurt

It’s the book that absolutely everybody read this summer. Now you can hear Adam Kay read extracts from his bestselling memoir, This is Going to Hurt at live events. Expect stories from a career as a Junior Doctor within the NHS’s obs and gynae department – affectionately termed ‘brats and twats’ – from the gruesome to the hilarious to the profound. Sixteen West End dates have just been added. Book now as these will no doubt be sell-out live shows.

26 February – 30 April, Garrick Theatre, tickets from £27.50 adamkay.co.uk

Churchill: Walking with Destiny

The magnificent Stationers’ Hall sets the tone for this talk with Andrew Roberts, ‘one of the greatest historians of our time’ (The Observer). His new biography, Churchill: Walking With Destiny draws on over 40 new sources to paint a fresh picture of the statesman. This evening will focus on Churchill’s pivotal role in changing the course of WW2. The talk is in support of Book Aid International – the UK’s leading book donation and library development charity. Every ticket sold will help Book Aid International send more brand new books to libraries, hospitals, schools, universities and refugee camps around the world where people would otherwise have few books, or no books at all.

7 March, 6.15pm – 8.30pm, tickets £35 eventbrite.co.uk

Honey & Co Talks – Olive Oil and Butter

Fans of Honey & Co’s food talks (also turned into a brilliant podcast) will be pleased to hear that they’re back for Series 5 on makers, growers and producers. The first two sound enticing; first up there’s Maggie and Martin from Mother’s Garden Olive Oil farm in Catalonia, south of Barcelona, Spain. Learn all about their way of life and how they produce the cold pressed oil that is lively and delicate in flavour. The second focusses on artisan butter with Grant Harrington and Eve Hemingway. Join Grant, founder of Ampersand Cultured Butter as he shares his journey from restaurant kitchens in Sweden to setting up shop making artisan butter, buttermilk and fresh cheese using jersey cow milk, Himalayan rock salt and lactic cultures. Joining him is food writer Eve Hemingway – food served on the evening will be from their cookbook Bread & Butter,written by Eve and Grant along with bread expert Richard Snapes of The Snapery Bakery.

Mother’s Garden Olive Oil 25 February 2019, 7pm. Artisan Butter 18 March 2019, 7pm. Both held at Honey & Co, Warren St. £28 including the talk, food and a welcome drink.

 

— Daisy Allsup
20th February 2019