Win the Women’s Prize for Fiction Shortlist

Last night, the shortlist for the Women’s Prize for Fiction was announced: 16 titles were whittled down to 6 (including 2 debut novelists.  Click here to watch the judges, pictured below, including Bernardino Evaristo and Elizabeth Day read from the six shortlisted books). Any woman writing in English – whatever her nationality, country of residence, age or subject matter – was eligible to enter for the prize and the winner, to be announced 7th July, wins £30,000 and a bronze ‘Bessie’ statue, created by the artist Grizel Niven. A list of the 25 past winners reads like a Who’s Who of female novelists including Maggie O’Farrell, Naomi Alderman, Kamila Shamsie, Madeline Miller, Rose Tremain, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Zadie Smith, Lionel Shriver and many more, so all eyes are peeled as to who will carry off the Bessie this year.

If you’d like to get the chance to judge for yourself who should be that lucky woman, then do enter our competition below.  We’ve got all 6 of the shortlist finalist books to give away (The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett, Piranesi by Susanna Clarke, Unsettled Ground by Claire Fuller, Transcendent Kingdom by Yaa Gyasi, How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House by Cherie Jones and No One is Talking About This by Patricia Lockwood), as well as a Journal, commemorating 25 years of the Women’s Prize for Fiction, which highlights past winners and encourages you to pick up your own pen with inspirational quotes and writing tips.  One lucky winner will be picked out of a hat after 5pm on 20th May 2021.  (Please note that the 6 books and Journal will be sent directly from The Women’s Prize for Fiction Office to the winner.)  Good luck and happy reading!



Win the Women's Prize for Fiction Shortlist & Journal
Prize Draw ends 5pm, 20 May 2021
— Francesca
28th April 2021